February 17, 2022

The George C. Marshall Foundation Award – George Herbert Walker Bush – 2002

President George Herbert Walker Bush, 41st President of the United States, received the distinguished George C. Marshall Foundation Award at a gala dinner in New York City on March 8, 2002. It was the third such award the foundation has presented. “We are pleased to honor President Bush for his efforts to open a global economy while he was president,” said Albert Beveridge, III, president of the Marshall Foundation. “His leadership of the international community during the fall of the Berlin Wall, the emergence of democracy in Eastern Europe, and his construction of a 30-nation coalition to uphold international law during the Gulf War all underscore President Bush’s leadership in the Marshall model.”