May 19, 2021

The George C. Marshall Foundation Welcomes New Trustees

The George C. Marshall Foundation has recently brought on four new members to its Board of Trustees.

Walton M. Jeffress, Jr., of Fairfax, Virginia, is an attorney specializing in trust law, estate planning, and taxation law. He earned his B.S. from the Virginia Military Institute in 1968, his J.D. from Washington and Lee University in 1971, and his LL.M. in Environmental Law from George Washington University in 1976.

Peter Prowitt of Washington, D.C., is executive director of Global Government Relations for GE Aviation. He earned his B.A. in Zoology from DePauw University in 1977 and his M.B.A. from the Colgate Darden Graduate School of Business, University of Virginia, in 1981.

David L. Roll is the author of George C. Marshall: Defender of the Republic. He is Senior Counsel at Steptoe & Johnson LLP, a Washington D.C.-based international law firm, Nonresident Fellow at the German Marshall Fund, and founder of the Lex Mundi Pro Bono Foundation. He earned his B.A. from Amherst College in 1962 and his J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School in 1964.

Alston P. Watt of Thomasville, Georgia, is executive director of the Williams Family Foundation of Georgia, which supports programs in education and preservation. She earned her B.A. in Economics from Washington and Lee University in 1989 and her M.H.S. from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Their fellow trustees and the staff welcome our four new board members and look forward to working with them as we ensure the advancement of Marshall’s legacy.