The George C. Marshall Foundation will host an Open House in honor of the 58th anniversary of the dedication of the Marshall Foundation building on Sunday, May 22, from 1:00 to 4:30 p.m. at its building on the VMI Post. Activities will include conversations with historians, tours of the Marshall archives, library, and William and Elizebeth Smith Friedman room, prizes, a trivia contest, and refreshments.
Following the open house activities, Lt. Col. James Dittrich (USA, Ret.), VMI Class of 1976, will give a lecture on the fascinating life and career of Marshall’s aide and confidant, Brig. Gen. Frank McCarthy, VMI Class of 1933, in the Marshall Foundation’s Pogue Auditorium. The open house and lecture are free and open to the public.
Also on May 22, the Rockbridge Historical Society’s program “Farms, Mills, and Shops in the Shenandoah Valley” will be presented by Ken Koons in Gillis Theater at VMI’s Center for Leadership and Ethics. The event, which runs from 2:00 to 3:30 p.m., is also free and open to the public.
If you have any questions, please call Leigh McFaddin at the Marshall Foundation office at 463-7103 ext. 138.
In all, the events make up an exciting day of history in Lexington.